Попова Варвара Александровна  
 

Varvara Popova

Varvara Alexandrovna Popova was born on 17 December 1899.
She was an outstanding character actress, a student of Evgeniy Vakhtangov.
She worked at the Vakhtangov Theatre from 1920 till 1956.
Varvara Popova is said to be the most mysterious figure in the Vakhtangov Theatre history. Unsociable, simpleminded and uncommonly gifted she left the stage, or it would be better to say – dissociated herself in her artistic power’s very heyday. Varvara Alexandrovna didn’t accept new theatre leaders and refused to struggle.
Popova had no awards and prizes. She used to say: “Being Vakhtangov’s favourite student is beyond all possible honours and awards.”
She studied at the Studio with people who later determined style and trends of the Russian theatre development, who indeed became the face of the Russian stage, namely, B. Zakhava, R. Simonov, Ts. Mansurova, E. Alexeeva, I. Tolchanov. With all of them Varvara Popova was on the first name basis, but never boasted of that and never came into conflicts. The only thing she permitted herself to do was to stand up for her favourite partner and friend Boris Zakhava, when intrigues against him started at the theatre. It is this incident that was fatal in her biography.
After leaving the theatre Varvara Popova started a new life – she returned to the cinema. We say returned – because she had already had a considerable experience of working at the cinema. She had already acted in films, directed by such masters as Y. Protazanov and L. Obolenskiy, A. Saltykov, A. Rou.
Varvara Popova died in 1988.

From roles in theater
Among the works in the movies

Попова Варвара Александровна  
Коварство и любовь (1930)  

Луиза - Варвара Попова

Варвара Попова

 

Варвара Александровна Попова родилась 17 декабря 1899 года.
Блистательная характерная актриса, ученица Евгения Вахтангова. 

Служила в Театре имени Евг. Вахтангова с 1920 по 1956 год.

Варвару Попову называют самой загадочной фигурой в истории театра имени Вахтангова. Замкнутая, простоватая, но вместе с тем необычайно одарённая, она покинула сцену, а точнее, самоустранилась в расцвете творческих сил. Варвара Александровна не приняла новое руководство родного театра и не стала бороться.
У Поповой не было никаких почётных званий. «Любимая ученица Вахтангова — это выше любых почестей и наград», — говорила актриса.
Она училась в студии великого актёра и педагога вместе с теми, кто в дальнейшем определял стиль и направление развития русского театра, кто поистине стал лицом отечественной сцены — это и Б. Захава, и Р. Симонов, и Ц. Мансурова, и Е. Алексеева, и И. Толчанов. Со всеми ними Варвара Попова была на «ты», но никогда не кичилась этим и никогда не вступала ни в какие конфликты. Единственное, что Варвара Александровна позволила себе — вступиться за своего любимого партнера и единомышленника Бориса Захаву, когда против него в театре начались интриги. Этот инцидент и стал роковым в ее биографии. 

После ухода из театра у В. А. Поповой началась новая жизнь — она вновь пришла в кинематограф. Вновь — потому что за ее плечами уже был солидный опыт работы в кино. Она снималась у таких мастеров экрана, как Я. Протазанов и Л. Оболенский, А. Салтыков, А. Роу.

Варвара Александровна Попова ушла из жизни в 1988 году.

Из ролей в театре
Из работ в кино