Theatre

A large colonnaded building, loved by many generations of Muscovites, is located in the center of Arbat (Old) Street. This building is owned by the remarkable Vakhtangov Theatre. It has become not only the physical node but also the cultural hub of the central heritage district of Moscow. The numerous lanes that branch out from the main street commemorate the many trailblazers of this famous theatre. The names of these celebrities are inscribed in memorial plaques, embedded on stone monuments, making the atmosphere of this side of Old Moscow even more remarkable.

The creative life of the Vakhtangov Theatre is inseparable from ancient Russian culture, but at the same time it sets its gaze on the future. While the Theatre’s creativity remains committed to the legacy of its founder, the outstanding director and personality Evgeny Vakhtangov, it is this very legacy that reminds us of the necessity to be alive to the challenges of modern-day life.

The work of this Theatre is a combination of brilliant form and deep content. Here you can experience a variety of genres, from classic tragedy to mischievous vaudeville. In all these genres you will witness powerful Russian actors.

The Vakhtangov Theatre has conquered the hearts of millions of people in Russia, Paris, London, Vienna, Venice, Athens, Stockholm, Prague, Warsaw, Berlin, Budapest, Madrid, and many other foreign cities.

The Vakhtangov Theater is already 95 years old. The Theatre’s secret lies in the spirit of its young actors and stage-directors (both well-established and new-comers), its ambition to deal with complex moral issues, and its desire to awaken warm human feelings in the audience.

Театр

В самом центре улицы  Арбат стоит большое, украшенное колоннами здание, известное не одному поколению москвичей. Это здание принадлежит Театру имени Евгения Вахтангова, ставшего не только территориальным, но и культурным центром заповедного московского района. Многочисленные переулки, растекающиеся ручейками от главной улицы, хранят память о многих корифеях прославленного театра. Застывшие в памятниках, запечатленные на мемориальных досках, они придают этому уголку старой Москвы особую атмосферу. 

Вахтанговский театр неотделим в своем творчестве от вековой отечественной культуры  и, вместе с тем, он  смотрит в завтрашний день, оставаясь верным завету своего основателя, выдающегося режиссера Евгения Вахтангова – жить проблемами современности.

Театр Вахтангова – это сочетание яркой формы и глубокого содержания, это жанровое разнообразие, от классической трагедии до озорного водевиля; это прекрасная труппа, в составе которой  известные в России и за ее пределами актеры.
    
Театр Вахтангова –  это завоеванные сердца миллионов зрителей  России, Франции, Великобритании, Германии, Италии, Греции, Швейцарии, Чехии, Польши, Китая, Венгрии, Испании, США, Канады и многих других зарубежных стран.

За плечами Вахтанговского театра уже 95 лет. В молодом задоре его артистов и режиссеров (корифеев и новобранцев), в стремлении разобраться в сложных нравственных проблемах, пробуждая в непростое сегодняшнее время добрые зрительские чувства, в многокрасочной театральности и заключен секрет творческого долголетия театра.